Traditionally given in the following order:

  1. De Providentia (On providence) - addressed to Lucilius
  2. De Constantia Sapientis (On the Firmness of the Wise Person) - addressed to Serenus
  3. De Ira (On anger) – A study on the consequences and the control of anger - addressed to his brother Novatus
  4. Ad Marciam, De consolatione (To Marcia, On Consolation) – Consoles her on the death of her son
  5. De Vita Beata (On the Happy Life) - addressed to Gallio

Author's bio

Lucius Annaeus Seneca was a Hispano-Roman Stoic philosopher, statesman, dramatist, and—in one work—satirist from the Silver Age of Latin literature.


Text and figures are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution CC BY 4.0. The source code is licensed under MIT. The full source is available at

Suggest changes

If you find any mistakes (including typos) or want to suggest changes, please feel free to edit the source file of this page on Github and create a pull request.


For attribution, please cite this work as

Lucius Annaeus Seneca (2017). Seneca's essays. Hugo Prose.

BibTeX citation

  title = "Seneca's essays",
  author = "Lucius Annaeus Seneca",
  year = "2017",
  journal = "Hugo Prose",
  note = ""